A Beginner’s Guide on How to Optimize Google Ads for Conversions

Managing a business has taught you that every penny counts, especially with your advertising budget. You can’t afford to lose money or drive away current customers by relying on outdated advertising techniques. Understanding how to optimize Google Ads for conversions removes the guesswork on acquiring new customers. This is because you make data-driven decisions based on analyzing your ads performance, securing your company’s long-term sustainability.

What are Conversions?

Conversions refers to completed actions your customers took, signing up for your newsletter or filling out a contact form, after interacting with your ads or website. Learning how to optimize Google Ads for conversions means driving more sales, leads, or sign-ups for your business.

How Do You Set Up Conversion Tracking?

Before studying how to optimize Google Ads for conversions, you first need to set up conversion tracking. It’s a way to measure how well your Google Ads are doing and pinpoint areas of improvements. This helps you focus your budget on the campaigns that are bringing the most value to you. Setting up conversion tracking is relatively easy.

It involves adding a small piece of code, which Google provides, to your website to track the user’s activities on your website after clicking on your ad. You’ll also need to indicate to Google what actions you consider a conversion, such as a form submission or a purchase. Once it’s all set up, Google will start tracking your conversion numbers and you’ll start seeing data in your Google Ads account. Watch this video to know more about Google Ads conversion tracking:

This data shows the numbers of your conversions from running ad campaigns. You can use this as a reference for implementing changes in your ads, either by adjusting your targeting or ad text, to improve your results. It even acts as a budget benchmark for your ad campaigns based on the amount each conversion costs.

7 Proven Ways on How to Optimize Google Ads for Conversions

1. Set Clear Conversion Goals

Define which actions you want users to take after clicking on your ad. Clear goals help focus your ad campaign towards specific outcomes, making it easier to measure success. Instead of a vague goal like “increase sales,” target a specific number of sales or a percentage increase. You’ll also have to consider the user journey when setting your conversion goals. Take the time to understand where your audience is in the buying process and align your goals with their intent.

Think about what information or incentives would be most valuable to them at each stage of the buying process. Let’s say that a customer is just researching a product or service, so they may look for information like product features and benefits. At this stage, your goal could be to provide valuable content, such as a detailed guide or a comparison chart, to help them make an informed decision. As they progress to the consideration stage, they might get interested in customer reviews, testimonials, or case studies.

Aligning your goals to this stage could involve directing them to a sign up form for a free trial, attend a webinar, or request a demo of your product or service. Once the customer reaches the decision stage and is ready to buy, you could shift your goal to directing them to your services or products page to close a sale. You could offer a limited-time discount to motivate them to complete the purchase.

2. Optimize Your Ad Copy and Landing Page

Another way on how to optimize Google Ads for conversions is focusing on improving your ad copy and landing page. A landing page is a dedicated webpage in converting the customers that clicked on your ads into a buyer. The most effective landing page should load quickly, be easy to read, and have a clear call-to-action (CTA) like “Buy Now” or “Sign Up.”

Consider your landing page’s design and layout. Use impressive images and avoid clutter and distractions that could take away your customers’ attention from the page’s main goal. Test different elements in your landing page, also known as A/B testing, to see what works best. This includes testing different headlines, images, CTAs, or layouts.

More importantly, your landing page should complement your ad copy. Your ad copy should be clear, engaging, and relevant to what you’re offering. Highlight the benefits of your product or service and features a strong CTA. Consider the relevance of your keywords in both the ad copy and landing page, ensuring these keywords align with your customers’ searches. This improves your ad copy’s quality score, leading to higher ad placements and lower costs per click.

3. Eliminate Irrelevant Traffic with Negative Keywords

There are a lot of strategies on how to optimize Google Ads for conversions, but the most overlooked is using negative keywords. It helps adjust your targeting and reach a more relevant audience for your ads. Negative keywords are words or phrases that you exclude from your ad campaigns to prevent your ads from showing up in irrelevant searches.

For example, you can use negative keywords like “commercial,” “industrial,” or “wholesale” to prevent your residential electrician ads from showing up outside of your target market. Doing so reduces your wasted ad spend and guarantees that you’re only displaying ads on people that are likely to buy from you. Remember that aligning your keywords to what people need creates a personalized experience, increasing engagement and trust in your brand. Both of which are critical in improving your bottom line. In fact, Sender found that companies using personalization strategies earn 40% more than the average competitor.

4. Remarketing to Interested Customers

Knowing how to optimize Google Ads for conversions includes using remarketing techniques. It involves showing your ads to people who have already interacted with your website or ads, but you haven’t converted into paying customers yet. Create a remarketing list using your Google Ads account. This list should include the people who have visited specific pages on your website or taken certain actions like adding items to their cart without purchasing. Watch this tutorial video on how to optimize Google Ads for conversions using remarketing:

You’ll then create specific ad campaigns or ad groups that target these people based on their interests and stage in the buying process. For example, you can make a remarketing ad that reminds a customer of the items they abandoned in their car. You can throw in a special discount as encouragement to complete the purchase. SharpSpring found that remarketing ads has a 70% chance of converting potential customers.

It’s also a good idea to use dynamic ads to deliver a more personalized experience. Dynamic ads automatically display products or services relevant to each customer based on their browsing history and interests.

5. Choose Your Bidding Strategy

Learning how to optimize Google Ads for conversions means familiarizing yourself with bidding strategies. Google Ads offers several bid strategies, including cost per click (CPC), cost per acquisition (CPA), and return on ad spend (ROAS). These automated bidding tools use machine learning to adjust your bids real-time based on location, time of day, and device. CPA is about maximizing conversions at a fixed cost.

For example, you’re selling a product worth $100 and set a target CPA of $20. This means you’ll be paying $20 for each conversion. Google Ads will then automatically adjust your bids to help you get as many conversions as possible at or below your target CPA. This strategy will suit you if your goal is to expand your customer base regardless of the amount they spend.

Meanwhile, ROAS is about maximizing revenue at a target ROI. For example, you’d have to set a target ROAS of 400% if you want to earn $4 for every $1 you spend on ads. Google Ads will adjust your bids to help you scale your revenue with the guarantee of maximized ROI.

6. Take Advantage of Ad Scheduling

Part of understanding how to optimize Google Ads for conversions is using its ad scheduling feature. But you’ll first need to analyze the consumer behavior to identify the best times in displaying your ads. Consider the time of day, day of the week, and even specific events or holidays that may influence your audience’s purchasing decisions. You can then input which days and times you see fit during the set up of your campaign, indicating to Google when it will display your ads.

Google Ads will even adjust your bids to increase or decrease the ad’s visibility during certain time slots. Let’s say that you’re an electrician and you’ve noticed that your ads perform better on weekends when more homeowners are available to schedule service calls. You can tweak the schedule to display your ads more during the weekends, improving your conversion rates and overall ROI.

Digital Trek offers Google Ads management services for clients feeling overwhelmed with their marketing efforts. We have years of experience in improving conversions for businesses. Contact us and get a free quote!

Explore Ad Extensions

Another example of how to optimize Google Ads for conversions is using ad extensions. These are additional features that you can add to your ads, such as site links, call-outs, and call extensions. For example, as a restaurant owner, you might add a site link to your menu or a call extension to allow visitors to call you directly from your ad. Adding ad extensions to your Google Ads improves your ad ranking and click-through rate (CTR) because Google factors it into the ad rank formula.

This influences how well your ad performs compared to others, where a higher CTR leads to better ad placements. Most of all, the benefit of ad extensions goes beyond the business owner. From a customer’s perspective, ad extensions offer more information that may not fit into a standard ad, like promotions, categories, or social proof. This additional info helps them quickly decide and take action according to what they see in the ad, rather than spending hours comparing their options.

Knowing How to Optimize Google Ads for Conversions Translates to Your Business Growth

Learning how to optimize Google Ads for conversions needs a combination of the right strategies and a deep understanding of your target audience. It’s also an ongoing process that requires continuous testing, measurement, and adjustments. But by following the strategies outlined above, you’ll be on your way to improving your conversion rates for your business.

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